My path to mastery. Step 1.

So I’ve shown you what I read every month, and given you an idea on what I think a nurses path to mastery should include.

The one thing I didn’t mention is what really got me started on my path.

There was no sudden epiphany, I can’t really give you a time or date when it happened.   But one day I realized I wasn’t as good as I thought I was and I didn’t know as much as I thought I did.

I spent the first 20 years of my career believing that I know more than everyone else.  Yeah I know, what an ego.  I worked military, civilian, flight, I was teaching, even spent some time covering a President.  It started around 2001.  A cocky, “no longer young” nurse started working in one of the US premier teaching hospitals.  Over an 18 month period, I discovered that just about everyone there knew more than I did and was better than I was.  I crammed and got both my CCRN and my CEN.  There PROOF that I knew it all!

Nope, didn’t work.  Every time I turned around, there was something new, or a skill that I didn’t have.  Crap.  All that cramming didn’t work.  Besides,  since I crammed.  I didn’t retain all that stuff.   Still have no clue what a Balloon Pump waveform means.

Then I started to realize what was different about those nurses, who knew more than I did.   They knew in their heart and not just in their brain, that they didn’t know it all.  They approached things thoughtfully with the intent to be a better nurse, not just to prove they were better than everyone else.  That had been my biggest mistake when I took that those first steps to mastery.   I was doing it for the wrong reason.

I won’t argue that my ego still isn’t a strong motivator.  But it’s no longer a sole motivator.

So at that moment I took my first real step along my road to mastery.

Have you taken your first step?

About craigb.rn

An aging health care provider thoughts on life, love and 30 years of wiping butts. I have a passion for both critical care and education, and my co-workers think I fall into lecture mode way to often.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My path to mastery. Step 1.

  1. Bhavana says:

    Awesome blog post !! You did a good introspection and found out the motivating factor. It rings a bell for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

